fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Pangolins and Pandemics: Will China’s Wildlife Trade Ban Work?

March 19 , 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

China has recently imposed a ban on the trade of wildlife for consumption in hopes to prevent another virus like COVID-19. However, we have seen a ban like this before during the SARS epidemic, only to have it lifted shortly after. Join us for this SupChina online event where Dr. Peter Li, an associate professor at the University of Houston-Downtown whose research focuses on animal rights, and contemporary China, will discuss the wildlife trade and the future implications of its recent ban.


Schedule 
New York 3:30pm – 4:30pm EST (UTC-4)
San Francisco 12:30pm – 1:30pm PDT (UTC-7)
London 7:30pm – 8:30pm GMT (UTC+0)
Paris 8:30pm – 9:30pm CET (UTC+1)
Beijing 3:30am – 4:30am CST (UTC+8)
Sydney 6:30am – 7:30am AEDT (UTC+11)
Auckland 8:30am – 9:30am NZDT (UTC+13)


Price
This is a free online event. After you register the link to attend the event will be emailed to you.

 

 


About The Speaker
Dr. Peter Li
Twitter: @peterlee197499
About:
Dr. Li is an associate professor at the University of Houston-Downtown. He teaches international relations, East Asian Politics, U.S. Foreign Policy, Politics, and Animal Rights, and Contemporary China. His research focuses on China’s animal welfare policies and the country’s animal protection movement at a time of rapid social transformation. Dr. Li has published on China’s wildlife trade, China-bound wildlife trafficking, wildlife use and culture/politics, the political and institutional obstacles to wildlife law enforcement, companion animal protection, culture and human-animal relations, animal agriculture and food security, wildlife farming and others (For a selected number of his publications, please visit: https://works.bepress.com/peter-li/).  His “Enforcing Wildlife Protection in China” (https://works.bepress.com/peter-li/1/)  is one of the most cited of his works. “Explaining China’s Wildlife Crisis” (https://works.bepress.com/peter-li/17/) is a more recent overview of the political and institutional challenges of China’s wildlife protection and the obstacles to law enforcement against wildlife trafficking. “From SARS to the Wuhan Coronavirus” (https://www.scmp.com/comment/opinion/article/3047828/first-sars-now-wuhan-coronavirus-heres-why-china-should-ban-its) is a most recent op_ed piece he published in the wake of the Covid-19 outbreak. His earlier opinion piece on  “China’s tug-of-war over rhino and tiger protection” (https://www.scmp.com/comment/insight-opinion/united-states/article/2173219/chinas-tug-war-over-tiger-and-rhino-protection) described the remaining obstacles to the protection of China’s wildlife. He also writes for the media on China’s foreign relations and Northeast Asian security. His recent commentary on “Why China won’t be sidelined in North Korean affairs” (https://www.scmp.com/comment/insight-opinion/article/2139500/why-china-wont-be-sidelined-north-korean-affairs) was published on South China Morning Post, Hong Kong’s premier English language newspaper.
Dr. Li’s book Animal Welfare in China: Crisis and Politics Development (University of Sidney Press) is forthcoming.
Dr. Li has worked in the last ten years as a consultant for Humane Society International (HSI) on issues and collaborative programs with China.  

He was also recently featured in this Vox explainer video


 

 

Details

Date:
March 19
Time:
3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *